Lugar Series Alumnae to receive prestigious 2018 Torchbearer Awards

INDIANAPOLIS – The Indiana Commission for Women (ICW) will honor Richard G. Lugar Excellence in Public Service Series 2011-2012 alumna and current board member Brenda Gerber Vincent and 2016-2017 alumna and Indiana State Health Commissioner Dr. Kristina Box with Torchbearer Awards at the Torchbearer Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, September 26, 2018 at the Indiana Historical Society.

Vincent is the Chief Development Officer for Lifeline Youth & Family Services, Crosswinds and Lasting Change. She has established herself as a pioneer in the world of mental health, co-founding the Fort Wayne Carriage House. The Carriage House serves as a “clubhouse” model facility for over 1,600 members in the Fort Wayne community struggling with severe mental illness.

Dr. Box was appointed Indiana State Health Commissioner for the Indiana State Department of Health by Governor Eric J. Holcomb in 2017. Commissioner Box is a trailblazer in the medical field. She started her career in 1987 at Community Health Network as only the second female OB/GYN in the network’s system, served as the Physician Lead for Community Health Network’s Women’s Service Line, and led efforts to ensure low-income women and babies received necessary and important health screenings for free.

The ICW Torchbearer Awards recognize extraordinary women from around the state who have broken down barriers, overcome obstacles to women’s full participation and have made Indiana a better place to work, live and raise a family.

“Commissioner Box and Brenda’s commitment to public service and achievements make them groundbreakers in their industries and role models for all Hoosier women,” said Lugar Series Executive Director Anne Hathaway. “The Lugar Series congratulates our two outstanding alumnae, and we thank them for being an inspiration to all women.”

Honorees are selected from a pool of nominated candidates by a Council of Judges comprised of past Torchbearer Award winners. Recipients are chosen based on achievements in the areas of their professional careers, community leadership and public service.

This event is open to the press.

For more information or to register for the 2018 Torchbearer Awards Ceremony, click here. For more information about Commissioner Kristina Box, Brenda Gerber Vincent or the Lugar Series, contact Anne Hathaway at [email protected] or visit