Lugar Series welcomes new class of leaders

The Richard G. Lugar Excellence in Public Service Series recently selected its 29th class of Republican women for leadership training in government, politics and public service. The 20 women in the 2018-2019 class hail from 11 counties throughout Indiana. They will be formally introduced at the Lugar Series 2018 Opening Reception, which will be held on Tuesday, October 23, 2018 at the Ivy Tech Culinary Center Ballroom in Indianapolis. Lugar Series alumna and current Indiana State Treasurer Kelly Mitchell will serve as the keynote speaker.

The Lugar Series is a political training program for women with a mission to “increase the number and influence of Republican women in elected and appointed governmental positions at the local, state and federal levels.” To date, 509 Hoosier women have completed the Program. Graduates include former Indiana Lieutenant Governor Sue Ellspermann, State Representative Holli Sullivan and State Senators Liz Brown and Erin Houchin.

“This year’s class is comprised of 20 outstanding Hoosier women from multiple industries across the state who bring with them a diverse skill set and background,” said Lugar Series Executive Director Anne Hathaway. “These women are strong leaders who seek to engage in our state and communities. I look forward to seeing how they will utilize their talents and training after they complete the Lugar Series.”

The members of the 2018-19 Lugar Series class are (listed by county):

Allen- Lindsay Hannah and Nicole Keesling
Boone- Lindsay Adams
Clay- Nichole Keller
Decatur- Wendy Whitehead
Dubois- Cathy “Kitty” Merkley
Hamilton- Elizabeth Brier, Teresa Griffin, Angela Morris, Kate Snedeker and Megan Wiles
Henry- Betsy Mills
Jefferson- Katie Jenne
Marion- Lacey Berkshire, Amy Kent, Alexandra Miranda and Molly Szilard
Tippecanoe- Cameron Mann and Kimberly Wright
Tipton- Jennifer Hindman

The Lugar Series class meets once a month from October to May for training on public service and running a campaign, networking with state and local leaders and listening to business professionals on issues facing society. In the spring, the class takes an annual trip to Washington, D.C. to meet with Indiana’s congressional delegation and other national level officials.

For more information on the Lugar Series 2018 Opening Reception, please contact [email protected] or (317)536-6900. Tickets and tables for the event can be purchased at

Lugar Series Alumnae to receive prestigious 2018 Torchbearer Awards

INDIANAPOLIS – The Indiana Commission for Women (ICW) will honor Richard G. Lugar Excellence in Public Service Series 2011-2012 alumna and current board member Brenda Gerber Vincent and 2016-2017 alumna and Indiana State Health Commissioner Dr. Kristina Box with Torchbearer Awards at the Torchbearer Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, September 26, 2018 at the Indiana Historical Society.

Vincent is the Chief Development Officer for Lifeline Youth & Family Services, Crosswinds and Lasting Change. She has established herself as a pioneer in the world of mental health, co-founding the Fort Wayne Carriage House. The Carriage House serves as a “clubhouse” model facility for over 1,600 members in the Fort Wayne community struggling with severe mental illness.

Dr. Box was appointed Indiana State Health Commissioner for the Indiana State Department of Health by Governor Eric J. Holcomb in 2017. Commissioner Box is a trailblazer in the medical field. She started her career in 1987 at Community Health Network as only the second female OB/GYN in the network’s system, served as the Physician Lead for Community Health Network’s Women’s Service Line, and led efforts to ensure low-income women and babies received necessary and important health screenings for free.

The ICW Torchbearer Awards recognize extraordinary women from around the state who have broken down barriers, overcome obstacles to women’s full participation and have made Indiana a better place to work, live and raise a family.

“Commissioner Box and Brenda’s commitment to public service and achievements make them groundbreakers in their industries and role models for all Hoosier women,” said Lugar Series Executive Director Anne Hathaway. “The Lugar Series congratulates our two outstanding alumnae, and we thank them for being an inspiration to all women.”

Honorees are selected from a pool of nominated candidates by a Council of Judges comprised of past Torchbearer Award winners. Recipients are chosen based on achievements in the areas of their professional careers, community leadership and public service.

This event is open to the press.

For more information or to register for the 2018 Torchbearer Awards Ceremony, click here. For more information about Commissioner Kristina Box, Brenda Gerber Vincent or the Lugar Series, contact Anne Hathaway at [email protected] or visit